Brotherhood

by raxziel

When I turned 9 I have noticed how my older brother have become manly and mature. The kind of son exactly how my father wants. Everybody started calling him Prince Sefiro. When I spent my time playing my piano and violin he spent his time training and getting fit to be stronger. I still remember his words “This is what our father wants… No, this is what he expects. And if this is the only chance I will have to spent time with him, I’ll do it.” He even added “If this is what he usually does, at least I can join him”. I am not convince about what my brother said. I know the world out there is not all fighting and war. He may call me too soft but I can win my father’s time with other things that does not involve physical violence. That is why instead of mastering how to fight, I have mastered every piece of instrument my father gave me.

One time the day me and my brother was hoping for happened. My father were not busy enough to to spend time with us and bring us hunting. My brother and I are excited to have our father spend time with us. During the hunting all I packed was our food, my flute and violin. I was hoping my father will play it with me. When we arrived at the hunting ground, he let the guards leave far away from us. My father didn’t let me play any of my instrument for we should remain really quiet so not to scare of the cervid we spotted. My father gave a gun to my older brother. I can sense that my brother is not comfortable in shooting that poor cervid but my father is waiting for him to shoot. He press on the trigger and the loud noise of the gun was heard through out the forest. My brother miss and the cervid escaped and run. I was relieved that my brother missed by my father stood and in split second shoot his gun. The cervid was shot right through its head and I was terrified I was not able to move where I am standing. That is the first time I ever saw a living thing died. My father then look at us and said next time its your turn. We moved and saw another cervid but this time it is younger than the first one. My father handed me the gun but I couldn’t hold it. I know my brother didn’t want to make that shot too but he bravely took the gun from me and said “I’ll do it”. My father told him to relax and focus on the target and he carefully aim at the cervid. Then, as he makes the shot. I heard another loud noise and I see the cervid helplessly and slowly dying. I freak out and and shouted “No!”. I run away from my father and brother. My father chased me and as he chased me he tripped and fell. Then, I saw a big vicious bear came out and went to attacked my father. I got scared and I don’t know what to do. As my father is about to get bitten by the bear I took my flute and played it. It caught the bears attention and started to slowly walk near me. Then, it run and attacked me growling so loud my knees shook out of fear. I run from the bear but came to a dead end off the cliff. As the bear is about to throw it’s sharp and big claws on me. My brother suddenly came, took out his sword and attacked the bear bravely and stab it at it’s back. The bear shouted in pain and looked at my brother. I know my brother is scared but he stood there bravely to protect me. My father came and shoot at the bear. The bear ran away after that. I know I just too sacred but that made me realized why my father wants to teach us how to defend ourselves and fight and I admire my brother who bravely protected me that day.

